h1

December 12, 2012: Christmas Filberts

December 12, 2012

Christmas FibertsThere is something about filberts (hazelnuts) that somehow for me make the holiday season. Maybe it is that growing up, I never saw them all year round except for the holidays. I wanted to do something special with them, to commemorate all those past memorable Christmases. The danger is that this time, I exceeded my own expectations. Living alone, as I do, there is no one to stop me from scarfing down all these delicious Christmas Filberts. Luckily, I have you, dear reader, whom I feel obligated to distract me long enough to write this recipe down, before it gets too stale in my mind.

Nice and glossy, a little bit sweet, a little bit spicy, a little bit salty, with a delicate citrus accent to the tasty woody nut…you are wanting to double this recipe…quadruple if it is for a party!

Christmas Filberts
Shell 1 Lb. Hazelnuts (sadly, this only yields about 2C.) In a small pan bring 1/4C. H2O and 1/2C Dark Brown Sugar to a slow boil and reduce heat. Add 1/4 Tsp. Orange Zest, 1Tsp. Cinnamon, 1/4 Tsp. Ground Clove, 1/4 Tsp. Nutmeg and 1/4 Tsp. Cayenne Pepper. When the sauce is thick, remove from heat and add hazelnuts and stir, coating the nuts. Spoon hazelnuts from liquid-sugar and add to a cookie sheet lined with parchment. Sprinkle with fine sal de mer, turn hazelnuts with spoon, and salt again. Bake at 325°F for about 15 minutes, turning often. Do NOT over-cook! [remove from heat if you find the excess sugar turning solid] While still warm, push the hazelnuts from the puddle of caramelizing sugar-spice, turning until they cool. Remove to an airtight container. Delicious anytime, but best while still a little bit warm!

One comment

  1. Put them WAY HiGH up on a shelf…with other things in front of them…or the garage, if you have one.

    I live in Ct, so I keep my wine in New York. :)))

    Happy Christmas, Steve……take care, come to Ct. Some time!

    Sincerely,

    Kathy Avery

    Sent from MI6 – London Branch



Leave a Reply

