h1

May 31, 2012: Vichychoisse

May 30, 2012

We are really between seasons for Vichychoisse, but I had such a craving for it I couldn’t resist making it today. Vichychoisse is a rich and creamy French soup, usually served cold but delicious hot as well, made from leeks, potatoes, cream, butter, stock and spices. I usually only make this dish for guests.

Vichychoisse

Ingredients:

  • 2 large Leeks (about 5C. after chopping)
  • 2.5 Lbs. White Potatoes (washed, skinned, and cubed)
  • 1 Qt. Stock (traditionally made with chicken, but I use veggie)
  • 1/2 Stick (4 Tblsp.) Butter         •1Pint Light Cream
  • Spices: 3/4C. Fresh Dill (woody ends removed); 1/4 Tsp. French Thyme; 1/2 Tsp. Tarragon; 1.5 Tblps. Sal de Mer; a grind of coarse black pepper

Leeks, a longer, milder form of onion are perfect in this dish (onions are too strong and will overpower the Vichychoisse) but they can be quite a dirty veggie. Chop off the greener parts of the leeks and the end roots. I give all these pieces a good soak in cold H2O, while separating the green parts and rubbing the dirt out. I save the green parts and roots for stock. I then coarsely dice the white parts, put them in a colander and soak them in new H2O. I finally run them under a stream of cold H2O. Only then will they be clean. Let drain in the colander. Add leeks to large soup pot with butter. Over medium heat, sauté leeks until they start to become soft. Add potatoes and cook for about 15 minutes, stirring often. Add stock. Cover veggies with H2O if you don’t have enough stock. Add spices and bring to boil. Reduce heat to low. Simmer for about half hour or until veggies are quite soft. With immersion blender or, bit by bit, in a food processor, purée veggies and stock. Add cream and stir. Add milk to thin if necessary. Serve topped with fresh dill, with crackers or French bread and a white wine.

Much thanks to Regan for all the delicious French spices. Without them I would have never attempted this dish just for myself. The Vichychoisse was a delicious treat!

2 comments

  1. Oh, that sounds delicious. I’m trying to grow leeks this year so maybe I’ll give this a whirl. . .


  2. Funny, I too had a craving for it. I was low on potatoes, and had no leeks …but now I am infused with a greater zeal…and will make it this weekend. thanks Steve!

    Kathy Avery



Leave a Reply

