h1

November 02, 2011: Tasty Healthy Snacks

November 2, 2011

I’m still working through the generous supplies from my friends and trying to figure the best way to use them. I got a bunch of kale from Pam’s CSA, but I was worried that with all the veggies she gave to me that I wouldn’t get to them. Answer: turn the kale into chips. Kale chips are a very delicious (and much more healthy) answer to potato chips, and their taste is more complex. By making them yourself, you can control the amount of fat and salt you apply, and they are super easy and fun to make. I would guess the kids would enjoy mixing these (after parents do the cutting.)

I wanted to also toast the raw peanuts that Yoshio gave me. The process and spices are identical for both kale and peanuts, yet the taste is very different. I did use olive oil for the kale and corn oil for the peanuts because “it just seemed right” to do so. The only problem is that a whole head of kale makes only a couple of cups of chips. You don’t have to worry about storing them for long, trust me, they’ll go pretty fast!

Preheat oven to 350°F. Wash kale and dry in a salad spinner. If you don’t have a salad spinner, blot them with paper towels until very dry. Remove stem ends and use for stock. You just want the leaves of the kale. Any stems will turn chewy when finished. I don’t mind that, but if only want the crunch o the leaves, spend the time to trim the stems completely. Cut pieces into 2-3″ pieces. Dribble with about 1/4-1/2Tsp. olive oil (only enough to make the leaves glossy.) Sprinkle with a little sal de mer, paprika, and chili powder and toss well. Spread kale on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Put in oven and immediately reduce heat to 300°F. Bake for about 20-30 minutes, turning with tongs often. When done, leaves will have a nice crunch to them. Cool. Cover. Store in a cool, dry place.

Same recipe for the raw peanuts, just sub corn oil (or peanut) instead of olive oil. For both these dishes, vary spices as you choose for each batch, to keep the kids interested!

One comment

  1. I love kale chips. Got my niece hooked on ’em!



Leave a Reply

