h1

September 15, 2011: Harvest Soup

September 15, 2011

Having all these tempting veggie leftovers from Isaac’s garden and the contributions from my friend, Lisa, as well, got me thinking of how I might combine them all. I had a craving for a hearty. but healthy harvest soup, still in keeping with a Japanese style and so I came up with the following recipe:

Japanese Harvest Soup:

  • 1 Medium Butternut Squash (skinned, deseeded, sliced into 1″ cubes)
  • 2 Large Carrots (washed, skinned and sliced)
  • 1 Medium Onion (peeled, sliced into quarters)
  • 2 Cloves Garlic (chopped fairly coarsely)
  • 1/2 Head Cabbage (sliced into 8ths)
  • 1, 1″ Bundle (136g.) of Udon Noodle
  • 3 Quarts Veggie Stock
  • Spices: Coarse Ground Pepper; Paprika; 1/4C. Miso; 2″ konbu

In a large pot, over medium heat, cook onions, carrots, and squash together in about 3 Tblsp. olive oil. After about 2 minutes add garlic. Two minutes after, add cabbage. When carrots are half-softened, add a generous amount of ground pepper and paprika. Add veggie stock, konbu, and bundle of udon, bring soup to a brief boil, reduce heat and simmer (stirring occasionally) for about 10 minutes until noodles are soft. Add miso to 2 C. soup stock, whisk and put back into soup (I only had a dark miso but I would have preferred a red miso for this dish.) Remove konbu piece. Serve in bowls, top with furiake (I had Lisa’s wakame chazuke.) I’m trying to keep salt down in my diet, and I found with the natural saltiness of the combination of veggie stock, konbu, and furiake, that no salt was needed. However, you might want to keep a little shoyu on hand for guests to add, if they choose.

This soup was plenty hearty. I had it by itself for dinner and was quite satisfied. I would have added firm tofu, if I had some. This is a vegetarian soup, but I imagine that those of you non-vegetarians could also add chicken pieces at the pre-boiling stage, to make it even heartier. This soup would go well with sake or a Japanese beer.

One comment

  1. Each post makes me miss Japan even more. Thank you for bringing Japan to the US for us…for ME!



Leave a Reply

