h1

January 07, 2011 Goma-Dare Dressing

January 7, 2011

Here’s a variation of a traditional Japanese dressing that is wonderful on fresh (or cooked) vegetables, tofu, meat, fish…the works!

My variation started a couple of weeks ago when my good friend Lisa, on a visit, requested only two things: steamed veggies and a Thai peanut sauce. I blended a number of peanut sauce recipes and then reformed the traditional goma-dare sauce to include what I had learned from the Thai recipe. To get closer to the original, simply substitute tahini instead of peanut butter. I prefer the stronger flavor of peanut butter, but that depends on what you are serving it with.

Goma-Dare Dressing:

  • 1/2 Chili Pepper (minced fine)
  • 1/2 Clove Elephant Garlic or 1 Clove garlic (minced fine)
  • 1/2 Shallot (minced fine)
  • 4 Tblsp. Corn Oil
  • 2/3C. Peanut Butter (smooth)
  • 2 Tblps. Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 1 Tblsp. each: mirin; shoyu (soy sauce); concentrated shiitake broth (or Dashi)
  • 3/4C. Broth or H2O
  • Dash of pepper and salt
  • 1 Tsp. Miso

I knew I was going to love this dressing, based on my trials with the Thai sauce, so this recipe makes twice as much. It keeps for about a week and you may find it complements other meals. If not, simply cut the recipe in half. Also, for cold dishes (like my salad) you need to make it ahead of time, so that it cools.

In a small pan, on medium high, heat oil, and add all the minced vegetables with salt and pepper. Sauteé until veggies are soft. Lower heat and add peanut butter, rice vinegar, mirin, shoyu, shiitake broth and veggie broth and wisk. I added my own veggie broth (but H2O will do, if you don’t have any). Continue heating until flavors are blended. Take off heat, let cool for 10 min. and wisk in miso. Serve immediately for hot dishes or cool for salads and cold veggies.

My salad above is matchsticked carrots, cucumber, celery, red onion and, after the sauce was added, sliced scallions. All on a bed of Romaine leaves.

One comment

  1. I can testify that this sauce was mystically amazing 🙂



Leave a Reply

