h1

November 28, 2010: Thanksgiving

November 28, 2010

Nothing makes me more happy than to make a meal for my good friends, so I was delighted when conditions were such that I was able, for the first time, design and create a Thanksgiving meal for Teja, Barbara, Nicole, Katie, Dan, Jen, and Marlis. Dan provided a huge, healthy, free-range turkey from Chestnut Farms [http://chestnutfarms.org/] Barb helped organize the cooking schedule as the turkey totally dominated one oven and we had to rotate the sides in the other oven. Nicole and Katie did a great job assisting me in the kitchen, as they always do. After the meal, we hung out and watched one of my favorite versions of “A Christmas Carol” after. The menu was:

  • Almonds toasted with Olive Oil, Sea Salt, and Crushed Rosemary
  • Gruyère Cheese and Sherry Fondue
  • Butternut Squash and Carrot Soup with Wheat Rolls
  • Turkey and Gravy
  • Duchess Potatoes
  • Sweet Potato baked in Butter and Maple Syrup and Lemon Zest
  • Whole Grain Stuffing with Apple, Craisins, and Toasted Walnuts
  • Cranberries Sauce with Orange Zest
  • French Bean Casserole with Button Mushrooms and Bread Crumbs
  • Apple Pie with Walnut Crumb Topping and Vanilla Ice Cream

The soup turned out very well, one that I will definitely make again. I made a stock of all the veggie leavings from the other parts of the meal, and this made about 2 quarts. I skinned and deseeded two fairly large butternut squash, then chopped into pieces about 2″ pieces. Same with carrots. The proportion was about 3/4 squash to 1/4 carrot. I diced 1/2 Vidalia onion and one clove of elephant garlic and sautéed them in about 4Tblsp. butter. I added the stock to cover vegetables and spices (2 bay leaves, about 4Tblsps. diced fresh parsley, 1 Tblsp sal de mer and about 1/4Teasp each of: ground black pepper, basil, thyme, oregano & about 1/8Teasp each of: cinnamon, ground clove, nutmeg, and allspice) and brought to a boil. When it came to boil, I lowered the heat to simmer for about 1/2 hour until the veggies were soft. I removed the bay leaves and ground soup with an immersion grinder until smooth. I then added 1 pint of cream. I topped off the soup with diced parsley and a swash of sour cream.

2 comments

  1. Oh Steve, I thought I would never have to eat again after our avery fest/Feast in Cos cob on Saturday.

    Your Thanksgiving Nov. 28th blog ..well, now i am hungry ..again.

    Devon the youngest and her husband Chris did a spread to beat all spreads. iwill e-mail you personally and give you the mouth watering details.

    take care…you have such lucky and talented friends. Always a plus in life.

    toodles,

    Kathy Avery


  2. Love, love, love this! Wonderful melding of flavors! And what a generous menu.



Leave a Reply

