h1

October 12, 2010: A Healthier Caesar Dressing

October 12, 2010

The weekend before last I made a meal for Teja, Barb, Nicole, and Katie that included a salad made from my healthier Caesar Dressing. I get a little queasy when I see recipes calling for raw egg. I always think there is a better way. Here’s a good example: a normal Caesar Dressing calls for at least one raw egg. I have substituted silken tofu instead. Same taste, consistency etc., but it is healthier, keeps longer, and I don’t have worry about salmonella poisoning!

Steve’s Healthier Caesar Dressing

  • 2-3 garlic cloves (or what I use is 1 large 2″x1″ Elephant Garlic chopped small)
  • 1/2 c. oil (more as needed, to get a smooth dressing)
  • 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp. Lemon Juice (or juice from 1 small lemon; filtered)
  • 1 Block Silken Tofu (water removed: place between plates; add pressure)
  • 1 tsp. Dry Mustard (or Dijon Mustard…better, really)
  • 1/4 c. Parmesan Cheese (more to taste)
  • Anchovy Paste or chopped anchovies (optional)
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 3/4 tsp. salt

Tofu from the market always has too much water. I place the block between plates and top with a pot filled with enough water to press the water out of the tofu. I ALWAYS do this in the sink (I’ve learned the hard way that tofu does not make a solid support!) I prefer fresh squeezed lemon, but I have used the bottled kind for this recipe. I usually pick up cheap lemons on the reduced rack at the produce area. These are usually not as pretty, but are at the peak of ripeness. I like Elephant Garlic as a rule (instead of regular garlic) as it adds a texture to most dishes. You have to section it before you process all the ingredients in a food processor as a big piece of garlic will jam the processor.

This is one of those recipes where it is almost impossible to screw up and takes several minutes (at the most) to make. The anchovies are optional (and more traditional) but I have not tried this yet, as I know it will not keep as long. This dressing is good on lots of salads. It’s good as a dip for fresh veggies. Safe, tasty, fast, easy, fun, and kinda loosey-goosey!

Leave a Reply

